How to Get Off Megan’s Law in Morris County NJ
Lawyers for Removal from Megan’s Law in Morristown, New Jersey
Are you wondering how to get off Megan’s Law in New Jersey? Have you had to register as a sex offender for years and want to be removed from the New Jersey sex offender registry? The Tormey Law Firm is a team of skilled criminal defense attorneys with extensive experience representing clients charged with sex crimes, including criminal sexual contact, endangering the welfare of a child, and aggravated sexual assault. Our firm’s founding partner, Travis J. Tormey, has even been featured in the Asbury Park Press as a respected legal resource on Megan’s Law in New Jersey. During his time at the United States Attorney’s Office, Mr. Tormey worked with the sex crimes unit on federal prosecutions. Moreover, Mr. Tormey was recently successful in having a wrongfully accused sex offender exonerated in the Ocean County Superior Court after more than a decade. Further, Mr. Tormey has been successful numerous times in having individuals removed from Megan’s Law registration requirements.
Another one of our firm’s partners, Christopher Perry, was named a SuperLawyer Rising Star in 2018 in the area of criminal defense. Overall, our experienced Morris County sex crimes defense lawyers have successfully defended clients facing sex-related charges in Morristown, Mount Olive, Dover, Denville, Parsippany, and Roxbury and we regularly assist clients who were previously convicted of sex crimes in achieving removal from Megan’s Law in New Jersey.
If you or a loved one is a potential candidate to be removed from Megan’s Law, or you are wondering if you are eligible to get off the sex offender registry in New Jersey, contact the Tormey Law Firm in Morristown today for a free consultation. You can call us at (908) 336-5008 or toll-free at 866-949-6948, or you can use our online contact form.
Removal from Megan’s Law in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:7-2(f)
Megan’s Law became effective on October 31, 1994. The statute requires a defendant who has been convicted of certain enumerated sex offenses to register with the police department in the municipality in which they reside. The police will also notify neighbors and local schools of the registrant’s existence and the registrant’s photograph will be posted on an internet database.
The legislature saw fit, when enacting this statute, to allow certain registrants to file a Motion to be removed from registration requirements if certain criteria are established. The statute which governs the potential removal of a registrant from Megan’s Law is N.J.S.A. 2C:7-2(f). The statute stipulates, in pertinent part:
§ 2C:7-2(f) Removal from Megan’s Law
f. Except as provided in subsection g. of this section, a person required to register under this act may make application to the Superior Court of this State to terminate the obligation upon proof that the person has not committed an offense within 15 years following conviction or release from a correctional facility for any term of imprisonment imposed, whichever is later, and is not likely to pose a threat to the safety of others.
Requirements for Removal from Megan’s Law in NJ
To apply to be removed from Megan’s Law registration requirements, the following must be true:
- 15 years have passed since the conviction or release from prison (whichever is later);
- The conviction was not for any offense listed in section g of the statute;
- The registrant has not had any convictions in the 15 years since the original conviction; and
- The registrant is “not likely to pose a threat to the safety of others.”
Contact a Parsippany NJ Megan’s Law Removal Lawyer for a Free Consultation
If you meet the above requirements, you are eligible to apply for termination of your Megan’s Law registration requirements. For additional information, contact the Tormey Law Firm today for a free consultation. You can call us at (908) 336-5008 or toll-free at 866-949-6948, or you can simply use our online contact form.