Parsippany NJ Speeding Ticket Lawyer
Traffic Violation Defense Attorneys in Morris County, New Jersey
Just about everyone has gone over the speed limit while driving. Perhaps you were in a hurry. Or perhaps you forgot to check your speedometer while driving. Regardless of the reason, being hit with a speeding ticket in New Jersey can be a difficult ordeal. The rate of speed that the police cited you for will determine the potential penalty and fine if you are found guilty.
If you have been cited for speeding in Morris County, New Jersey, it is in your best interests to consult an experienced traffic attorney. The Tormey Law Firm is here to help you navigate the often complicated NJ traffic ticket system. We will work zealously to minimize your potential penalty and protect your driving privileges. Upon taking the case, we perform a detailed investigation into the circumstances that led to your ticket, with a particular focus on the officer’s report against you. Armed with this information, we will work to get your charges reduced to a no-point violation, such as unsafe driving, or dismissed altogether due to the lack of evidence against you. If you have been cited for speeding in Boonton, Dover, Madison, Rockaway, Parsippany, or elsewhere in Morris County, New Jersey contact the Tormey Law Firm in Morristown today at 866-949-6948 for a free consultation.
New Jersey Speeding Tickets: N.J.S.A. 39:4-98
Title 39 governs all traffic violations in the State of New Jersey. Specifically, speeding violations are governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-98, which provides, in pertinent part:
Subject to the provisions of R.S. 39:4-96 and R.S. 39:4-97 and except in those instances where a lower speed is specified in this chapter, it shall be prima facie lawful for the driver of a vehicle to drive it at a speed not exceeding the following:
a. Twenty-five miles per hour, when passing through a school zone during recess, when the presence of children is clearly visible from the roadway, or while children are going to or leaving school, during opening or closing hours;
b. (1) Twenty-five miles per hour in any business or residential district;
(2) Thirty-five miles per hour in any suburban business or residential district;
c. Fifty miles per hour in all other locations, except as otherwise provided in the “Sixty-Five MPH Speed Limit Implementation Act,” pursuant to section 2 of P.L.1997, c.415.
Penalties for Speeding Violations in New Jersey
Speeding violations in New Jersey will result in motor vehicle points accruing on your license. The number of points depends on the rate of speed:
- 1-14 mph over the speed limit: Two (2) motor vehicle points.
- 14-29 mph over the speed limit: Four (4) motor vehicle points.
- 30 mph or more over the speed limit: Five (5) motor vehicle points.
- Over 90 mph and you will likely lose your licence.
In order to make its case in a speeding ticket case, the State must prove three elements:
- The driver was driving the vehicle at the date and time at issue.
- There was a speed limit set for that area.
- The driver exceeded the limit set by law.
If you have a Commercial Drivers Licence (CDL), the process is basically the same, but a CDL driver will face harsher penalties if they are convicted of the underlying offense.
If you accumulate between 10 and 12 points on your license, the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) can place an administrative suspension on your licence. If you accrue 12 points within two (2) years or 15 points in more than two (2) years, your license will be suspended for 30 days or more and your insurance premiums can increase significantly.
Even an out-of-state driver can be hit with stiff penalties when returning to their home state.
Contact Randolph NJ Speeding Defense Lawyers for a Free Consultation
It is important that you avoid points on your license for a number of reasons. First, points will cause your insurance rates to go up. Second, if you accumulate between 10 and 12 points on your license, your license may be suspended by the DMV. Finally, if you accumulate points, you will also be assessed motor vehicle surcharges by the DMV. As a result, it is crucial that you avoid getting these points on your license by contacting a traffic ticket attorney with experience in New Jersey. If you or a loved one has been charged with speeding in Morris County or elsewhere in New Jersey, call the Tormey Law Firm anytime at 866-949-6948 for a free consultation, or use our online form to schedule an appointment at our conveniently located offices in Morristown.