Morristown NJ Disorderly Conduct Lawyer
Local Criminal Defense Attorneys in Morris County, New Jersey
Aside from traffic tickets, Disorderly Conduct is one of the least serious crimes you can be charged with in New Jersey. However, it does potentially carry the possibility of jail time, substantial fines, and will deface your criminal record, causing prospective employers to pass you over for a job. If you’ve been cited for Disorderly Conduct in Morris County or elsewhere in New Jersey, then keep reading to learn about the law, the potential penalties, and how the Tormey Law Firm may be able to get your charge dismissed.
The Tormey Law Firm is an experienced group of criminal defense lawyers with extensive experience representing clients charged with criminal offenses throughout Morris County, including in Madison, Far Hills, Dover, Denville, Parsippany, and Morristown. Our managing partner, Travis J. Tormey, was featured in the Daily Record in Morris County regarding several shoplifting cases he handled and the immigration consequences and penalties involved. Additionally, Mr. Tormey has been cited as a legal resource on disorderly conduct charges. Mr. Tormey’s blog was quoted in an AOL News article entitled, “Snooki Arrested for Being Snooki: What Defines Disorderly Conduct?” If you or a loved one has been charged with disorderly conduct in Morris Coounty, contact the Tormey Law Firm anytime at (908) 336-5008 for a free consultation.
Disorderly Conduct in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:33-2
A criminal charge for disorderly conduct in New Jersey is governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:33-2, which provides, in pertinent part:
a. Improper behavior. A person is guilty of a petty disorderly persons offense, if with purpose to cause public inconvenience, annoyance or alarm, or recklessly creating a risk thereof he
(1) Engages in fighting or threatening, or in violent or tumultuous behavior; or
(2) Creates a hazardous or physically dangerous condition by any act which serves no legitimate purpose of the actor.
b. Offensive language. A person is guilty of a petty disorderly persons offense if, in a public place, and with purpose to offend the sensibilities of a hearer or in reckless disregard of the probability of so doing, he addresses unreasonably loud and offensively coarse or abusive language, given the circumstances of the person present and the setting of the utterance, to any person present.
Consequences of a Disorderly Conduct Arrest – What am I looking at?
Disorderly conduct is a criminal offense in New Jersey covered under N.J.S.A. 2C:33-2(a). According to the statute, disorderly conduct is classified as a petty disorderly persons offense. This kind of criminal offense is handled in the local municipal court in the municipality in which the alleged conduct occurred. If convicted, a disorderly persons offense will result in a criminal charge on your record. Furthermore, if convicted of a petty disorderly persons offense, you could be facing 30 days in jail and a $500 fine.
Talk with a Madison NJ Disorderly Conduct Defense Lawyer Free of Charge
Disorderly conduct charges can often be downgraded to non-criminal offenses, which results in a fine and no criminal record. However, these kinds of plea deals generally require nuanced arguments that can only be made by someone who is familiar with courtroom procedure in New Jersey. If you or a loved one has been charged with disorderly conduct in Morris County or New Jersey, it is imperative that you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney for assistance.
Here at the Tormey Law Firm, we care about our clients. We also understand the stress and fear that a person charged with a crime experiences. We will guide you through the NJ criminal justice system and zealously represent you. The Tormey Law Firm is available anytime for (908) 336-5008 for immediate assistance and a free consultation.