NJ Juvenile Megan’s Law Attorneys
Juvenile Sex Crimes Defense Lawyers in Morristown, New Jersey
If your child is a juvenile accused of sexual assault, criminal sexual contact, endangering the welfare of a child, or another sex crime in New Jersey, the mere allegation of a sex crime can destroy their life. Do not let juvenile sex crime charges ruin their future. Even if they have only been questioned about possible involvement in a sex crime, it is important to contact an experienced NJ juvenile defense attorney to protect their innocence and prevent potential sex offender registration under New Jersey’s Megan’s Law.
The Tormey Law Firm is an experienced criminal defense team. Our skilled attorneys have successfully represented clients who’ve been charged with all types of criminal offenses in Roxbury, Mount Olive, Denville, Parsippany, Dover, Morristown, and throughout New Jersey. Prior to founding the Tormey Law Firm, our founding partner Travis J. Tormey worked at the United States Attorney’s Office. He also has experience working for two of the largest and most well-known criminal defense firms in the state. Now Mr. Tormey focuses his practice entirely on criminal defense and drunk driving, which has enabled him to perfect his craft in these specific areas of law. In fact, he has been cited as a legal resource by several New Jersey newspapers, including the Daily Record and the Asbury Park Press, as well as AOL News. Another one of our firm’s partners, Alissa D. Hascup, served with the Morris County Prosecutor’s Office, where she successfully represented the State of New Jersey at numerous criminal trials. Now, she utilizes this insight to craft the most effective defenses for our clients. If your child has been charged with a sex crime that entails Megan’s Law sex offender registration, we can help. Contact our Morris County criminal defense lawyers 24 hours a day, seven days a week at 866-949-6948, or use our online contact form to schedule a no-obligation appointment at our offices in Morristown.
Juvenile Sex Crimes and Megan’s Law in New Jersey
Megan’s Law is commonly known as sex offender registration. It provides that a convicted sex offender in New Jersey must register his address with the local police and provide updates about any changes in his address, his employment, his schooling, or any other significant changes in his life. For certain sex crimes in New Jersey, if you are adjudicated delinquent as a juvenile, you will be required to register under Megan’s Law. However, in some cases, you may apply to be removed from Megan’s Law when you reach the age of 18.
The sex offender registry law can be found in the New Jersey Code at 2C:7-1 through 2C:7-21. Megan’s Law was implemented on October 31, 1994 and is applicable to any defendant convicted, adjudicated delinquent, or found not guilty by reason of insanity for any of the following criminal offenses:
- Luring or Enticing a Minor
- Criminal Sexual Contact (if the victim is under the age of 18)
- Kidnapping (where the victim is under 18 and the offender is not the parent)
- Criminal Restraint (where the victim is under 18 and the offender is not the parent)
- False Imprisonment (where the victim is under 18 and the offender is not the parent)
- Aggravated Sexual Assault
- Sexual Assault
- Aggravated Criminal Sexual Contact
- Kidnapping (where the victim is less than 16 years old)
- Endangering the Welfare of a Minor by Engaging in Sexual Contact with a Minor
- Endangering the Welfare of a Minor by knowingly receiving for the purpose of selling, procuring, manufacturing, giving, or providing through any means (including the internet) any photos, films, or videos which depict a child engaging in a prohibited sexual act or in the simulation of such an act
Contact a Dover NJ Juvenile Defense Attorney for a Free Consultation
If you or a loved one has been charged with a sex crime as a juvenile in New Jersey, you need to mount an aggressive defense. On the other hand, if you were previously convicted of a juvenile sex crime, you may be able to apply to be removed from Megan’s Law upon reaching the age of 18. It is imperative that you speak with an experienced New Jersey juvenile sex crimes attorney as soon as possible to understand your rights and all of your legal options. Contact the Tormey Law Firm in Morristown anytime at 866-949-6948 for a free consultation.