Morristown NJ Simple Assault Lawyer
Assault Charge Defense Attorneys in Morris County, New Jersey
Simple assault is a disorderly persons (misdemeanor) type offense in New Jersey which will be handled in the local municipal court in the town in which the alleged incident occurred. On this type of charge, a defendant is facing up to a $1,000 fine, up to six (6) months in the Morris County Jail, probation, and a permanent criminal charge on their record if convicted. Simple assaults typically involve a fight or a domestic violence incident in the home.
The Tormey Law Firm, LLC is a Morristown-based firm which practices solely in the areas of criminal defense and drunk driving (DWI). Our criminal defense attorneys have successfully handled thousands of cases in New Jersey, in both Superior Court (indictable/felony level offenses) and Municipal Court (disorderly persons/misdemeanor level offenses). Alissa D. Hascup, a former Morris County Assistant Prosecutor, spent years with the Morris County Prosecutor’s Office, prosecuting cases ranging from Murder and Drug offenses to Robbery and Weapons offenses. Travis J. Tormey has handled thousands of criminal cases and focuses his practice solely on criminal defense and drunk driving defense. Mr. Tormey previously collaborated with the United States Attorney’s Office and worked closely with the gang task force, the white collar unit, and the sex crimes unit. Mr. Tormey is an experienced Morristown NJ simple assault lawyer who has represented clients charged with aggravated assault, disorderly conduct, shoplifting, and other offenses all over Morris County. With offices conveniently located in Morristown, attorneys from The Tormey Law Firm, LLC appear in courts in Parsippany-Troy Hills, Dover, Budd Lake, Denville, Rockaway, Madison, Victory Gardens and throughout Morris County NJ on a daily basis. Contact one of our skilled attorneys anytime at (908) 336-5008 for a free consultation.
Simple Assault Lawyer in Parsippany NJ
Simple assault is a disorderly persons criminal offense in New Jersey. The crime is governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(a), which provides, in pertinent part:
§ 2C:12-1. Assault
a. Simple assault. A person is guilty of assault if he:
(1) Attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or
(2) Negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or
(3) Attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.
Simple assault is a disorderly persons offense unless committed in a fight or scuffle entered into by mutual consent, in which case it is a petty disorderly persons offense.
Penalties for Simple Assault in New Jersey
Simple assault is a disorderly persons offense, except when it is a petty disorderly persons offense. The charge is handled in the Municipal Court in the municipality in which the alleged offense was committed. A disorderly persons offense is punishable by up to a $1,000.00 fine and six (6) months in the county jail. However, if the simple assault was committed in a mutual fight or scuffle, it is a petty disorderly persons offense, which is punishable by a $500.00 fine and up to 30 days in jail. If the simple assault was committed in a domestic violence incident, a restraining order may also be issued.
On a simple assault charge, the alleged victim must appear and testify in court unless the alleged assault was witnessed by a law enforcement officer or someone else. In addition, if this is a domestic violence offense, the defendant is not eligible to apply for the conditional dismissal program for first time offenders. Unfortunately, domestic violence charges are not eligible for that program.
Contact a Dover NJ Simple Assault Attorney for a Free Consultation
If you’ve been charged with simple assault in Morris County NJ, the experienced criminal defense lawyers at The Tormey Law Firm can help you. We have an active municipal prosecutor on staff, so we understand how the other side thinks in assault cases. We also have years of experience defending clients charged with simple assault in Morris County courtrooms, so we have a firm grasp of the many nuances involved in assault cases. The criminal trial team at The Tormey Law Firm will fight to help you beat your simple assault charges. For a free consultation regarding your simple assault charges in Morris County, contact our Morristown offices at (908) 336-5008.