Denville NJ Third Offense DWI Lawyer
Drunk Driving Defense Attorneys in Morris County, New Jersey
New Jersey Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charges are serious. If you are convicted as a repeat offender for a third DWI offense, you could go to jail for up to 180 days. At a minimum, there is a mandatory sentence of three (3) months of imprisonment. As a third-time offender you need an experienced team of NJ DWI lawyers to fight the charges against you.
The Tormey Law Firm is a team of experienced criminal defense and drunk driving attorneys, who have been representing clients throughout New Jersey for years. We have represented thousands of clients charged with alcohol related offenses including first offense DWI, third offense DWI, and refusal to submit to a breath test in Parsippany, Denville, Mount Olive, Morristown, Dover, and Madison. Additionally, our founding partner, Travis J. Tormey, is one of the few NJ attorneys to be certified in the operation of the Alcotest 7110, the breath-testing device used throughout the State. This knowledge and expertise can be used to attack the reliability of the breath-test result in your case. Alissa D. Hascup, one of our firm’s partners, has extensive experience in the courtroom, which has allowed her to develop advanced defense strategies that she can use to help you beat your DWI charges. Ms. Hascup is a current municipal prosecutor who regularly handles DWI trials. This gives us an edge in the courtroom because we understand how the other side thinks and we can anticipate the prosecution’s arguments in your case.
At the Tormey Law Firm, we understand that a DWI charge can happen to anyone. If you or a loved one has been charged with a driving while intoxicated offense in Morris County or elsewhere in New Jersey, contact the Tormey Law Firm at 866-949-6948 for a free consultation, or you can use the online contact form.
Third Offense DWI Charges in New Jersey
In New Jersey, third offense DWI is codified in N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, which provides, in pertinent part, that:
(a) a person who operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, or operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant’s blood, shall be subject:
(3) For a third or subsequent violation, a person shall be subject to a fine of $1,000.00, and shall be sentenced to imprisonment for a term of not less than 180 days in a county jail or workhouse, and shall thereafter forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for 10 years. For a third or subsequent violation, a person also shall be required to install an ignition interlock device or shall have his registration certificate and registration plates revoked for 10 years.
Penalties for Third DUI in NJ
DWI refers to “driving while intoxicated,” while DUI refers to “driving under the influence.” In New Jersey, a person can be charged with DWI if his or her blood alcohol content is 0.08% or higher. If you’ve been charged with a third offense DWI, it is imperative that you speak to an experienced DWI lawyer.
New Jersey has mandatory DWI penalties that NJ prosecutors strictly enforce, including:
Jail Time: A conviction for third offense DWI can lead to a mandatory sentence of three (3) months in jail. Depending on the circumstances, this sentence can be extended to six (6) months in jail.
Suspension of Driver’s License: A conviction for third offense DWI will result in mandatory suspension of the offender’s driver’s license for 10 years.
Ignition Interlock Device: A person convicted of DWI for a third time will be required to install an ignition interlock device on his or her car for a period of three (3) years. This is a device that disables the automobile’s ignition until the driver blows into the device and provides a clean breath test sample.
Alcohol Education Program: A person convicted of DWI for a third time may be required to participate in an alcohol education program at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).
Criminal Background Checks: A DWI conviction will show up on background checks for the rest of your life, negatively impacting your future employment opportunities.
Monetary Penalties for Third Offense DWI/DUI
- Fine – $1,000
- Violent Crimes Compensation Board (VCCB) – $50
- Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund (DDEF) – $100
- Safe Neighborhood Services Fund (SNSF) – $75
- Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF) – $100
- Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) – $280 fee
- MVC Surcharge – $1,500/year for three years
Note: Failure to pay DUI surcharges will result in:
- Indefinite suspension of driving privileges.
- Action filed in State Superior Court by MVC. This may include securing a lien against your property, garnishing your wages, or other similar action.
Contact Randolph NJ DWI Lawyers for a Free Consultation
We know what it takes to beat your third offense DWI charge. Our experienced DWI defense lawyers have years of litigation experience as both prosecutors and defense attorneys, and we will work tirelessly on your behalf so that you can avoid third offense DWI penalties. If you or a loved one has been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, contact the Tormey Law Firm in Morristown at 866-949-6948 for a free consultation, or you can use the online contact form.