Dover Drug Possession Defense Lawyer
It is likely that if you are in possession of a controlled dangerous substance (CDS) in Dover, New Jersey, you will eventually be charged with a drug possession offense. In fact, charges for CDS possession are issued in connection with marijuana, cocaine, heroin, LSD, MDMA, methamphetamine, and prescription drugs so often that is may be the most common criminal offense in the Town of Dover. Charges possessing an illegal drug, or a prescription drug without a valid prescription from a licensed professional, are subsumed under New Jersey Statute 2C:35-10 and can vary in terms of severity based on the specific drug involved. Depending on the degree of your drug possession charges, your case may be heard in Dover Joint Municipal Court where you will face up to 6 months in the Morris County Jail, or be sent to the Morris County Superior Court where you could be sentenced to up to 5 years in prison if convicted. Regardless of the circumstances of your case, a criminal record and the other serious consequences of a drug possession conviction can change your life forever. The attorneys at The Tormey Law Firm have successfully defended thousands of clients charged with drug possession in New Jersey and Morris County, including Dover. To speak with an experienced lawyer about your case, contact us at (908) 336-5008. We provide cost free consultations.
Charged with Possession of CDS in Dover NJ
According to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10 of the New Jersey Criminal Code, it is unlawful to have a substance contained in the New Jersey Drug Schedules in your possession without a doctor or other licensed professional prescribing it specifically for your use under medical supervision. It is even illegal to keep your prescription medication in a container other than the original bottle in which it was issued. So how do you know how serious to charges are in your Dover drug possession case? It depends on the specific type of substance involved. Here’s how possession of CDS works under NJ Law.
- If you possess marijuana: less than 50 grams is a disorderly persons offense handled in the Dover Municipal Court with penalties including up to 6 months in jail, a $1,000 fine, and a 6-month suspension of your driver’s license. Possession of more than 50 grams of marijuana in Dover is a fourth degree crime handled at the Morris County Superior Court with penalties including up to 18 months incarceration and a fine of up to $25,000. You will also lose your license for at least 6 months if convicted.
- If you’re charged with possession of a Schedule I, II, III, or IV controlled dangerous substance: this is a third degree indictable offense applicable in cases involving heroin, cocaine, meth, Ecstasy, and many other street drugs. It also applies to prescription drugs like Xanax and Oxycontin if you have them without a valid prescription. The penalties for a third degree crime of drug possession in Dover include between 3 and 5 years incarceration, fines of up to $35,000, and suspension of your license for between 6 months and 2 years.
- If your drug possession charge involves a Schedule V drug: it is a fourth degree crime (often referred to as a felony elsewhere). Controlled substances in Schedule V are often offered for sale at local drug stores so depending on the amount, an otherwise legal purchase can become illegal possession if you have more of the drug in your possession than you are allowed under the law. Potential consequences of a conviction include a maximum prison term of 18 months, license suspension up to 2 years, and monetary sanctions amounting to $15,000.
Drug Possession Attorneys in Dover, New Jersey
However common charges for possession of CDS may be in Dover, this does not diminish the seriousness of these crimes in the eyes of the law. Prosecutors in Dover and Morris County are poised to attack your conduct and push for the consequences that will “teach you a lesson.” But you don’t need to confront drug possession charges alone. At The Tormey Law Firm, our criminal defense lawyers fight tooth and nail to deliver the best possible results for our clients. We are committed to doing all we can to secure a dismissal in your case. For a free consultation with an experienced Dover drug possession defense lawyer who can help, contact our office at (908) 336-5008. An attorney is available at all times to assist you.