Morris County Possession and Distribution of Xanax Lawyer
Prescription Drugs Defense Attorneys in Morristown, New Jersey
Xanax ( e.g., Alprazolam) is known by several street names, including “bars,” “peaches,” “blues,” “zanies,” or “totem poles” is used legally to treat anxiety, panic disorders, insomnia, and general anxiety caused by depression. Nationwide in 2010 there were an estimated 345,691 emergency department visits attributed to benzodiazepines, the root of Xanax. Of these emergency department visits, 124,902 were related to Xanax use. Due to these startling statistics, New Jersey prosecutors will not hesitate to seek the maximum punishments in Possession and Distribution of Xanax cases.
When you are facing Xanax charges in New Jersey, having an aggressive, experienced prescription drug defense lawyer to guide you through the legal process is invaluable. Our managing partner, Travis J. Tormey, has extensive experience representing clients charged with drug-related offenses, including possession of Xanax, possession of marijuana, and cocaine distribution in courts across the state. If you are facing charges for Xanax possession, distribution, or intent to distribute in Madison, Morristown, Parsippany, Rockaway, Roxbury, or elsewhere in Morris County or New Jersey, the Tormey Law Firm is available 24 hours a day – 365 days a year to answer any and all questions you have regarding your New Jersey prescription drug case. You can contact the Tormey Law Firm at (908) 336-5008 for a free consultation, or you can use the online contact form to reach us today.
Xanax Charges in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10.5
Xanax is a type of drug that is classified as a benzodiazepine, which is the root of a wide range of prescription drugs. Alprazolam (e.g., Xanax), lorazepam (e.g., Ativan), clonazepam (e.g., Klonopin), diazepam (e.g., Valium), and temazepam (e.g., Restoril) are the five most prescribed, as well as the most frequently encountered, benzodiazepines on the illicit market.
In New Jersey, it is illegal to carry prescription drugs and certain medications unless you hold a valid prescription. Under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10.5, possession and/or distribution of Xanax is prohibited unless carried out by a licensed physician, dentist, veterinarian, or pharmacist.
As set forth by the Controlled Substance Act, Xanax is a Schedule IV controlled dangerous substance (CDS). Schedule IV drugs have an accepted medical use but can lead to physical and psychological dependence. The penalties for possession or distribution of Xanax vary, depending on the number of pills that are seized.
Second Degree Xanax Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
The most serious charge is second degree intent to distribute Xanax. This is typically the charge if the offender possesses 100 or more pills and does so for financial gain. If convicted, an offender could be looking at five (5) to 10 years in New Jersey State Prison, with a presumption of incarceration. You could also be hit with a $300,000.
Third Degree Xanax Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
In New Jersey, possession of between five (5) and 99 Xanax pills without a valid prescription is a third degree crime. If you are convicted of third degree possession of Xanax, you could be looking at a sentence of three (3) to five (5) years in NJ State Prison and a fine of up to $200,000.
Fourth Degree Xanax Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
If you possess four (4) or fewer Xanax pills, it is classified as a fourth degree felony if the pills are intended for distribution. This is punishable by up to 18 months in state prison.
Disorderly Persons Offense: Xanax Possession
In accordance with N.J.S.A. 2C:35-24, possession of four (4) or fewer Xanax pills is a disorderly persons offense if the pills are for personal use only. This essentially means that if you are caught with a pill outside the bottle or container in which it was dispensed, you could be charged with disorderly persons possession of Xanax. Moreover, just being under the influence of Xanax in public without a valid prescription can be a disorderly persons offense. If convicted, you face up to six (6) months in the county jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
Disorderly Persons Offense: Failure to Turn Over Xanax to a Police Officer
A related charge is failure to turn over Xanax to a law enforcement officer. As set forth by N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(c), failing to turn over drugs to police is a disorderly persons offense. Many times, this will be a downgraded charge that prosecutors use in a Xanax case. If convicted of this charge, you could face up to six (6) months in the county jail, a $1,000 fine, and suspension of your driver’s license for at least six (6) months.
Contact Netcong Xanax Charges Defense Lawyers Today
If you or a loved one has been charged with Possession or Distribution of Xanax in Morris County or elsewhere in New Jersey, contact the Tormey Law Firm at (908) 336-5008 for a free consultation, or you can use the online contact form. Our Xanax defense attorneys are prepared to attack the State’s case and put you in a position to achieve the best possible result. Simply call today to get your questions answered.