Mt. Olive NJ DWI Defense Lawyers
DUI Attorneys in Morris County, New Jersey
If you have been charged with DWI in Mount Olive, New Jersey, it’s crucial to have an experienced attorney who can craft an aggressive defense. The DWI defense team at the Tormey Law Firm represent clients charged with DWI offenses, driving under the influence of drugs, refusal to submit to a breath test, and DWI in a school zone in Mount Olive (Budd Lake), New Jersey. In fact, Mr. Tormey has been handling DWI matters in Mount Olive Municipal Court for ten (10) years. Our experienced DWI defense team will examine all aspects of your case including the probable cause for the initial stop, the pshycho-physical tests (also known as the field sobriety tests) and the breath testing machine itself while creating a comprehensive defense strategy to combat these charges in court. We also utilize the services of a retired police officer (NJ state trooper) who is certified on the breath testing machine and in field sobriety testing and who can testify at trial (if need be) as an expert witness. In addition, we have a former Morris County NJ DWI prosecutor on staff who utilizes her knowledge and experience to assist our clients facing these similar charges. For more information, contact our Morristown offices now for immediate assistance at 908-336-5008. The initial consultation is always provided free of charge.
Mount Olive NJ Municipal Court Handles DWI Cases
If you have been charged with DWI, DUI, or refusal to submit to a breath test in Budd Lake or Mount Olive, these charges will be handled at the Mount Olive Municipal Court. The Mount Olive Municipal Court shares a court with the Netcong Municipal Court. It is located at 204 Flanders-Drakestown Road in Budd Lake, NJ. The court office is open Monday-Friday 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM, and the court office can be contacted directly at (973) 691-0900 ext. 2. For more information on the Mount Olive Municipal Court, visit their official website.
- Brian J. Levine is the Judge.
- Brian Mason is the Prosecutor.
- Michelle Armbrecht is the Court Administrator.
Penalties for DWI in Mount Olive, New Jersey
If this is a first offense DWI for you, then the penalties depend on your level of intoxication and breath reading. If your blood alcohol was .08%-.10% or there was no reading, you are looking at a short license suspension until you install an interlock device on your vehicle for three (3) months. If your reading was higher than .10% BAC, then you are facing a longer suspension and period of interlock device on your vehicle.
Now, if this is not your first offense, then it becomes a little more complicated. If your first offense was more than ten (10) years ago, then you may qualify under the “ten year step down rule” to be sentenced as a first offender again. We will have to obtain a copy of your drivers history abstract to determine when your first offense was committed. If you have multiple prior offenses, this rule can be used multiple times depending on the length of time that elapsed between the offenses.
On a second offense DWI in New Jersey, you are facing a one to two (2) year license suspension if convicted, and up to ninety (90) days in the Morris County jail. On a third offense, you are facing an eight (8) year driver’s license suspension and 180 days in the Morris County Jail (90 days of that sentence can be served at a state approved in-patient rehab facility).
If you are facing a third or subsequent offense, it is imperative that you hire an experienced Mount Olive NJ DWI attorney who can look at your prior offenses and see if any motions can be filed to try to vacate prior DWI’s or to have them disregarded for custodial purposes (in order to try to avoid the mandatory jail time).
For more information, contact our experienced Mount Olive DWI defense attorneys now for immediate assistance at 908-336-5008. You can also learn more about specific facets of your Mt. Olive DUI case by accessing the following resources:
- Proof of Intoxication in NJ Drunk Driving Cases
- Proof of Operation for DUI Charges
- DWI Blood Tests
- Refusal to Submit to a Breath Test in a School Zone