Parsippany Drug Possession Attorney
One of the most prevalent causes for criminal charges in Parsippany, New Jersey is drug possession. This offense, called Possession of a Controlled Dangerous Substance (CDS) is explained in section N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10 of the New Jersey Criminal Statutes. Depending on the specific drug possessed, a violation of this statute can be classified as a disorderly persons offense, or a third or fourth indictable crime (known as a felony in other states). Regardless of the degree of your drug possession charges, you are exposed to fines, driver’s license suspension, a criminal record, and possible jail time if convicted. This is why it is crucial to find an experienced criminal defense lawyer who regularly defends clients charged with possession of heroin, marijuana, cocaine, ecstasy, and other controlled dangerous substances in Parsippany. The attorneys at The Tormey Law Firm are thoroughly prepared to fight for the best possible outcome in your case. Our defense team includes members from both sides of the criminal justice system, including a former Morris County prosecutor, former Municipal Court prosecutor, former judicial law clerk, and renowned criminal defense lawyers. For a free consultation with an attorney who can help with your drug possession charges in Parsippany, call (908) 336-5008 today.
Possession of CDS Charges in Parsippany, New Jersey
Charges for possession of CDS are variable in terms of their grading. The degree of a violation of NJSA 2C:35-10 is contingent upon the specific type of drug involved in the crime. For instance, when the offense involves marijuana, the degree of the charge is different from drug possession charges involving cocaine or heroin. The following is an explanation of New Jersey’s possession of CDS law and how it applies to your charges in Parsippany:
- Possession of marijuana is broken down into two types based on the weight of the drug. According to 2C:35-10A(4), possession of marijuana under 50 grams is a disorderly persons offense, punishable by up to 6 months in the county jail and a $1,000 fine. Possession of over 50 grams of marijuana 2C:35-10A(3) is a fourth degree crime, which warrants up to 18 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $15,000.
- Possession of any Schedule II, II, III or IV controlled dangerous substance is a third degree crime, which carries between 3 and 5 years in NJ State Prison and a maximum fine of $35,000. Third degree drug possession charges under 2C:35-10a(1) apply in cases involving heroin, MDMA (molly), LSD, cocaine, and methamphetamine among others.
- Schedule V CDS possession is classified as a fourth degree crime with penalties including a maximum prison sentence of 18 months and fines amounting to $15,000.
There are additional penalties for possession of CDS in New Jersey, including a mandatory suspension of your driver’s license for at least 6 months, as well as possible community service and substance abuse treatment. Any conviction for drug possession will appear on your criminal record, which can present a problem when applying for jobs, college, advanced degrees, rentals, and more.
Parsippany Drug Possession Defense Lawyers
When charges for drug possession threaten your freedom and your future, you need to confront these allegations head on with a skillfully crafted defense strategy. The attorneys at The Tormey Law Firm prioritize having your charges dismissed, whether we can successfully challenge an element of the case, such as how the drugs were obtained through an invalid motor vehicle stop or search, or help you gain admission into a diversionary program such as Conditional Discharge or Pretrial Intervention. Contact us at (908) 336-5008 for a free consultation with an experienced Parsippany drug possession defense lawyer, or contact us online to make an appointment at our local office in Morris County.