Morris County Possession and Distribution of Suboxone Lawyer
Prescription Drug Charges Attorneys with Offices in Morristown, New Jersey
Suboxone is a drug approved for the treatment of opiate dependence, such as heroin, morphine, codeine, oxycontin, dilaudid, and methadone. However, Suboxone is also addicting in itself in that it causes sensations of artificial euphoria. Often, individuals are charged with Distribution of Suboxone when they attempt to help others in need. Doctors prescribe certain dosages of Suboxone based on medical necessity of the prescribed user. These lawful users then turn around and sell part of their prescription for profit.
The criminal defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm have successfully handled thousands of cases in New Jersey, in Superior Court and Municipal Court. Our experienced drug defense lawyers have represented hundreds of clients charged with drug offenses, including Suboxone Possession, Heroin Possession, and Possession of CDS in a Motor Vehicle.
The Tormey Law Firm has obtained many positive results for countless clients charged with Drug offenses in Morris County NJ. We are available at 866-949-6948 to assist you immediately, or you can use the online contact form.
New Jersey Suboxone Charges
All crimes related to the Possession, Possession With Intent to Distribute, and Distribution of Suboxone, a Prescription Drug, are addressed by N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10.5, which sets forth:
a. A person who knowingly:
- distributes (sells) a prescription drug in an amount of four or fewer units (pills) is a disorderly person;
- distributes (sells) OR possesses with intent to distribute a prescription drug in an amount of four or fewer units (pills) is guilty of a crime of the fourth degree;
- distributes (sells) OR possesses with intent to distribute a prescription drug in an amount of at least five but fewer than 100 units (pills) is guilty of a crime of the third degree;NOTE: A fine of up to $200,000 may be imposed for a conviction under this subsection
- distributes (sells) OR possesses with intent to distribute a prescription drug in an amount of 100 or more units (pills) is guilty of a crime of the second degree.NOTE: A fine of up to $300,000 may be imposed for a conviction under this subsection
b. A person who uses any prescription drug other than as prescribed is a disorderly person.
c. A defendant may be convicted for a violation of subsection b. if he manifests symptoms or reactions caused by the use of ANY prescription drug.
d. A person who obtains or attempts to obtain possession of a prescription drug by forgery or deception is guilty of a crime of the fourth degree.
e. A person who knowingly possesses, actually or constructively:
- a prescription drug in an amount of four or fewer units (pills) is a disorderly person;
- a prescription drug in an amount of five or more units (pills) is guilty of a crime of the fourth degree.
Second Degree: Suboxone Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
The most serious charge you can face is second degree intent to distribute Suboxone. This is typically the charge if the offender possesses 100 or more pills and does so for financial gain. If convicted of this charge, you could be looking at five (5) to 10 years in NJ State Prison, with a presumption of incarceration. Additionally, a conviction could result in a $300,000 fine.
Third Degree: Suboxone Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
In New Jersey, possession of between five (5) and 99 Suboxone pills without a valid prescription is a third degree crime. If you are convicted of third degree possession of Suboxone, you could be looking at a sentence of between three (3) and five (5) years in New Jersey State Prison and a fine of up to $200,000.
Fourth Degree: Suboxone Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
If you possess four (4) or fewer pills, it is classified as a fourth degree felony. This can be punishable by up to 18 months in NJ State Prison.
Disorderly Persons Offense: Suboxone Possession
In accordance with N.J.S.A. 2C:35-24, possession of four (4) or fewer Suboxone pills is a disorderly persons offense. This essentially means that if you are caught with a pill outside the bottle or container in which it was dispensed, you could be charged with disorderly persons possession of Suboxone. Beyond that, just being under the influence of Suboxone in public without a valid prescription can be a disorderly persons offense. If convicted of this charge, you could be looking at up to six (6) months in the county jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
Disorderly Persons Offense: Failure to Turn Over Suboxone to a Police Officer
Another related charge is failure to turn over Suboxone to a law enforcement officer. As set forth by N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(c), failing to turn over drugs to police is a disorderly persons offense. Many times, this will be a downgraded charge that prosecutors use in a Suboxone case. If convicted of this charge, you face up to six (6) months in the county jail, a $1,000 fine, and suspension of your driver’s license for at least six (6) months.
Contact a Denville Suboxone Charges Lawyer for a Free Consultation
Travis J. Tormey, the firm’s founding partner, has been known to travel to four counties in one day to handle cases. His extensive experience has taught him how to see issues others miss. If you are facing drug charges in Morris County, do not wait to contact us for a free consultation and case evaluation. You can contact us toll-free at 866.949.6948, or you can use the online contact form.