New Jersey Methadone Possession and Distribution Lawyer
Prescription Painkillers Defense Attorneys in Morris County, New Jersey
Methadone is an opioid pain reliever or Analgesic, similar to morphine. An opioid is often called a narcotic because it is a psychoactive compound with pain relieving and sleep-inducing properties. It also reduces withdrawal symptoms in people addicted to heroin or other narcotic drugs without causing the “high” associated with the drug addiction. Methadone is often referred to as “methadose,” “dollies,” “amidone,” or “fizzies.” Because methadone is commonly abused in New Jersey, NJ prosecutors often seek the harshest possible punishments for defendants charged with methadone possession and distribution.
At the Tormey Law Firm, our New Jersey prescription drug defense lawyers have successfully handled thousands of cases in New Jersey, in Superior Court and Municipal Court. One of the firm’s partners, Alissa D. Hascup, is a former Morris County Assistant Prosecutor, former Special Deputy Attorney General, and former Municipal Prosecutor who handled a variety of serious drug-related cases during the course of her exceptional career. Because she knows what it takes for the State to prove a Prescription Drug case beyond a reasonable doubt, she uses this knowledge to defend, and potentially beat, the charges against our clients. Moreover, our founding partner, Travis J. Tormey, has extensive experience representing clients against drug charges, including possession of methadone, possession of marijuana, and prescription fraud in Denville, Mount Olive, Morristown, Dover, Parsippany, and throughout Morris County and New Jersey. If you are facing methadone charges in New Jersey, contact the Morristown law offices of the Tormey Law Firm at (908) 336-5008 to discuss your case and receive a cost-free consultation.
New Jersey Methadone Charges
In New Jersey, it is illegal to carry prescription drugs and certain medications unless you are also in possession of a valid prescription. Under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10.5, possession and/or distribution of methadone is prohibited unless carried out by a licensed physician, dentist, veterinarian, or pharmacist. As set forth by the Controlled Substance Act, methadone is a Schedule II controlled dangerous substance (CDS). Schedule II drugs have an accepted medical use but a high potential for abuse that can lead to physical and psychological dependence. The penalties for possession or distribution of methadone vary, depending on the number of units that are seized.
Second Degree Methadone Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
The most serious charge is second degree intent to distribute methadone. This is typically the charge if the offender possesses 100 or more methadone units and does so for financial gain. If convicted of this charge, a person could be looking at five (5) to 10 years in NJ State Prison, with a presumption of incarceration. Additionally, a conviction on this charge could result in a $300,000 fine.
Third Degree Methadone Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
In New Jersey, possession of between five (5) and 99 methadone units without a valid prescription is classified as a third degree crime. If you are convicted of third degree possession of methadone, you might be looking at a sentence of between three (3) and five (5) years in NJ State Prison and a fine of up to $200,000.
Fourth Degree Methadone Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
If you possess four (4) or fewer units, it is a fourth degree felony, punishable by up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
Disorderly Persons Offense: Methadone Possession
As set forth by N.J.S.A. 2C:35-24, possession of four (4) or fewer units of methadone is a disorderly persons offense. This essentially means that if you are caught with even a single unit outside the bottle or container in which it was dispensed, you could be charged with disorderly persons possession of methadone. Moreover, just being under the influence of methadone in public without a valid prescription can be classified as a disorderly persons offense. If convicted of this charge, you may be looking at up to six (6) months in the county jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
Disorderly Persons Offense: Failure to Turn Over Methadone to a Police Officer
Another related charge is failure to turn over methadone to a law enforcement officer. As set forth by N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(c), failing to turn over drugs to police is a disorderly persons offense. Many times, this will be a downgraded charge that prosecutors use in a methadone case. If convicted of this charge, you face up to six (6) months in the county jail, a $1,000 fine, and suspension of your driver’s license for at least six (6) months.
Contact Rockaway NJ Prescription Drugs Defense Lawyers for a Free Consultation
If you are facing charges for Possessing, Possessing with the Intent to Distribute, or Distribution of Drugs like Methadone, there can be serious consequences associated with a conviction, including prison time and large fines. Do not delay in hiring legal representation. Protect your freedom and your rights. There are defenses available to a Methadone charge. Our Morris County prescription drug defense lawyers are prepared to examine the circumstances of your arrest and undermine the validity of the search. If the search was conducted illegally, then the entire case against you could be thrown out. Additionally, if you are facing Methadone charges in New Jersey, you may be eligible for a diversionary program such as the Pre-Trial Intervention (PTI) program or the conditional discharge program, depending on your prior record and the degree of your charges. The methadone defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm are available anytime to discuss your case. Contact us now at (908) 336-5008 or you can use the online contact form to schedule a free consultation.