Morristown NJ Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) Charges
Providing DUI Defense with offices in Morristown, New Jersey
The DWI defense lawyers at the Tormey Law Firm LLC recently represented a client with a drunk driving charge arising out of the Morristown Municipal Court located in Morristown, New Jersey. Our client had a NY driver’s license and was out at dinner with friends in Morristown when she was pulled over for having her high beams on. She completed some field sobriety tests and was arrested for suspected driving under the influence of alcohol. She was brought to the police station to provide samples of her breath on the Alcotest 7110 breath testing device. The first machine malfunctioned and was not working properly. Finally, on a second machine, she provided samples of her breath and her breath sample was .08% BAC which is the legal limit in New Jersey.
Unfortunately, a .08% reading allows you to be convicted of DWI. In some cases, you can even be convicted of DWI with a reading lower than .08% if you are significantly impaired and can not safely operate a motor vehicle on the roads in the State of NJ. In this case, we examined all the evidence and obtained an expert from a retired NJ state trooper which challenged the field sobriety tests and the accuracy of the .08% purported breath test result. Based on these evidential issues, the prosecutor realized that he could not prove his case and agreed to dismiss the DWI charge. This saved the client a DWI on her driving record, thousands of dollars in NJ motor vehicle surcharges, and thousands of dollars in insurance surcharges and premiums.
Here is a review from our very satisfied client:
“Travis was wonderful and answered all my questions at any time of the day (even when he was on vacation!). He was able to get me out of a major violation that would have affected me for the rest of my life down to a ticket that is completely manageable and will only be considered a traffic offense. Instead of losing over $10,000 with my car insurance skyrocketing, I only had a little over $3000 start to finish. This is counting the lawyer fees, the expert report and paying the $240 ticket itself. He has saved me a lifetime of always having that mark on my record. The outcome with Travis from Tormey Law Firm on my side couldn’t have gone better.”
If you or a loved one needs assistance with a DWI charge in Morris County, contact our Morristown offices anytime for a free initial consultation at 908-336-5008.