New Jersey Percocet Defense Lawyers
Prescription Drug Possession and Distribution Attorneys in Morris County, New Jersey
Percocet is a slightly milder version of Oxycodone and OxyContin. “Percs” are considered a gateway drug because people addicted to “Percs” often turn to heroin as a cheaper more readily available “high” when they cannot afford the pills anymore. As a result, NJ prosecutors often seek to impose the maximum punishments when prosecuting people charged with possession or distribution of percocet. In fact, a person charged with possession of Percocet could face serious jail time, heavy fines, and lengthy suspension of your driving privileges. When possession crosses the line into distribution or intent to distribute Percocet, the potential consequences become even more severe.
If you are facing Percocet charges in New Jersey, having an experienced defense lawyer in your corner can truly spell the difference between a positive and negative result. The New Jersey prescription drug defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm have successfully handled thousands of drug cases in Parsippany, Rockaway, Mount Olive, Morristown, and throughout Morris County and New Jersey. Travis J. Tormey, the firm’s founding partner, has extensive experience representing clients charged with drug offenses, including Percocet Possession, Cocaine Possession and Distribution, Prescription Fraud, and Possession of CDS in a Motor Vehicle. In fact, he has earned the Client’s Choice Award from Avvo.com every year for the last 4 years. If you are facing prescription drug charges involving Percocet or other painkillers in Morris County or New Jersey, contact us today for a free consultation about your case. Our attorneys are available at (908) 336-5008 to immediately assist you, or use the online contact form.
Percocet Charges in New Jersey
Percocet is prescription drug that contains a narcotic pain reliever, Oxycodone, and a non-narcotic pain reliever (“Acetaminophen” commonly known as “Tylenol”). Classified as a narcotic, Oxycodone works in the brain to change how your body feels and responds to pain while the “Acetaminophen” reduces fever.
In New Jersey, it is illegal to carry prescription drugs and certain medications without holding a valid prescription. Under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10.5, possession and/or distribution of Percocet is prohibited unless carried out by a licensed physician, dentist, veterinarian, or pharmacist. As set forth by the Controlled Substance Act, Percocet is a Schedule II controlled dangerous substance (CDS). Schedule II drugs have an accepted medical use but a high potential for abuse that can lead to physical and psychological dependence. The penalties for possession or distribution of Percocet vary, depending on the number of pills that are seized.
Second Degree Percocet Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
The most serious charge is second degree intent to distribute Percocet. This is typically the charge if the offender possesses 100 or more Percocet pills. If convicted of this charge, you could be looking at five (5) to 10 years in NJ State Prison and a $300,000 fine.
Third Degree Percocet Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
In New Jersey, possession of between five (5) and 99 Percocet pills without a valid prescription is considered a third degree crime. If you are convicted of third degree possession of Percocet, you could face a sentence of between three (3) and five (5) years in state prison and a fine of up to $200,000.
Fourth Degree Percocet Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
If you possess four (4) or fewer Percocet pills, it can be classified as a fourth degree felony. This charge is punishable by up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
Disorderly Persons Offense: Percocet Possession
According to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-24, possession of four (4) or fewer pills is a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey. This essentially means that if you are caught with a Percocet pill outside the bottle in which it was dispensed, you could be charged with disorderly persons possession of Percocet. Moreover, simply being under the influence of Percocet without a valid prescription can be classified as a disorderly persons offense. If convicted, you could be looking at up to six (6) months in the county jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
Disorderly Persons Offense: Failure to Turn Over Percocet to a Police Officer
A related charge is failure to turn over Percocet to a law enforcement officer. As set forth by N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(c), this is a disorderly persons offense. Many times, this will be a downgraded charge that prosecutors strategically deploy in Percocet cases. If convicted, you could face up to six (6) months in the county jail, a $1,000 fine, and suspension of your driver’s license for at least six (6) months.
Contact a Jefferson Twp. NJ Percocet Charges Lawyer for a Free Consultation
There are defenses available to a Percocet charge in New Jersey. Our Morris County prescription drug defense lawyers will examine the circumstances of your arrest and the police search. If the search was conducted illegally, then the entire case against you could be thrown out. Additionally, if you’ve been arrested on Percocet charges, you may be eligible for a diversionary program such as the Pre-Trial Intervention (PTI) program or the conditional discharge program, depending on your prior record and the degree of your charges. The most valuable thing you can do at this time is find out all of your legal options. Contact the Morristown offices of the Tormey Law Firm at (908) 336-5008 today, or you can use the online contact form to schedule a free consultation with a New Jersey Percocet charge defense attorney.