Morristown Underage Possession of Alcohol Charges
Criminal Defense Lawyers with offices in Morristown, New Jersey
Underage possession of alcohol is a criminal charge in New Jersey that can have serious consequences for a young person including a permanent criminal charge on their record and a suspension of their NJ driver’s license. But it doesn’t have to. Here is an example of a underage alcohol charge we handled for a client arrested in Morristown, NJ.
Travis J. Tormey recently represented a client charged with underage possession of alcohol in violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15. The client was 20 years old and was allegedly caught with a red solo cup filled with beer at the St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Morristown, New Jersey. She had no prior criminal history. Now, based on this disorderly persons offense, she was facing a permanent criminal charge on her record, a $1,000 fine, up to six (6) months in the Morris County Jail, and a driver’s license suspension of 6 months.
Based on her lack of criminal history, her age, her cooperation with law enforcement, etc. Mr. Tormey was able to negotiate a favorable plea arrangement on behalf of the client. She plead guilty to a local ordinance violation which is a violation of local law similar to a littering ticket, noise violation, or leaving garbage at the curb on the wrong day. This resulted in a fine and no criminal record. As a result, the client preserved her clean record, avoided jail time, and avoided losing her NJ driving privileges.
Arrested for Underage Possession of Alcohol Morristown NJ? The Tormey Law Firm Can Help
This was a great result for the client and our law firm. If you or a loved one needs assistance with an underage alcohol arrest in Morris County NJ including in Denville, Dover, Parsippany, Mount Olive, or Madison, contact our offices now for immediate assistance at 908-336-5008. The initial consultation is always provided free of charge.