Hanover DWI Charges Dismissed Thanks to the Tormey Law Firm
“Here, we were retained by a client to handle a DWI case for her in the Hanover Municipal Court. It was a first offense and she was facing fines, license suspension, alcohol classes, and thousands of dollars in surcharges and fees. After a long court battle, Mr. Tormey was able to get the DWI ticket dismissed.”
Arrested for a DWI charge in Morris County? We can help. Here is a case Mr. Tormey successfully handled for one of our very satisfied clients.
Travis J. Tormey recently represented a client facing a first offense driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge in Hanover Municipal Court in Hanover, New Jersey. The client was represented by other counsel but decided to change and hire Mr. Tormey based on his DWI credentials and his confidence in terms of handling her case. The client had a .08% blood alcohol content (BAC) which is the legal limit in New Jersey. If convicted of this DWI offense, she would lose her driving privileges for three (3) months, serve 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC), pay a fine, and face up to 30 days in the Morris County jail. In addition, she would be forced to pay $3,000 in mandatory surcharges from New Jersey Department of Motor Vehicles and her car insurance premiums would increase significantly.
This was an arrest by the New Jersey State Police. The facts were as follows: The client was taken to the State police barracks to provide samples of her breath. After providing multiple samples on the Alcotest 7110 machine, there was a “control test failure” which means that the machine was not working properly. As a result, the client was then placed on a different Alcotest breath device which then provided a breath reading of .08% BAC. Now, the State must provide the Alcohol Influence Report (known as the “AIR”) from both the control test machine as well as the second machine used. The State did not provide the AIR from the control test machine. This printout from the machine could show that the client was under the legal limit (say at a .07% BAC) at the time she was blowing on the first machine. We don’t know. This potentially exculpatory evidence must be provided to the defense in order to adequately provide a proper defense. After several months and Mr. Tormey demanding this discovery and asserting the client’s right to a speedy trial, the case was dismissed by the Judge since the State was unable to provide the required evidence.
Arrested for DUI in Hanover NJ? Contact our Local Morris County Attorneys Now
This was a tremendous result for the client and the law firm. If you need assistance with a DUI related charge in Hanover Court, contact our offices anytime for a free initial consultation.