Madison NJ Underage Drinking Lawyer
Criminal Defense Attorneys with Offices in Morristown, New Jersey
An underage drinking arrest can wreak havoc on a young person’s future. If your child has been charged with underage drinking in New Jersey, they need an experienced NJ Juvenile Justice attorney to fight for them and ensure the best possible result.
The Tormey Law Firm is an experienced criminal and DWI defense team. Our attorneys have successfully defended numerous clients charged with all types of serious criminal offenses, including drunk driving, criminal mischief, and disorderly conduct in Roxbury, Denville, Parsippany, Dover, and Morristown.
Our founding partner, Travis J. Tormey, has successfully handled thousands of criminal cases in New Jersey. Prior to founding the Tormey Law Firm, Mr. Tormey worked at the United States Attorney’s Office. He also has experience working for two of the largest and most well-known criminal defense firms in the state. Mr. Tormey focuses his practice entirely on criminal defense and drunk driving, which has enabled him to perfect his craft in these specific areas of law. In fact, he has been cited as a legal resource by several New Jersey newspapers, including the Daily Record and the Asbury Park Press, as well as AOL News.
Another one of our firm’s partners, Alissa D. Hascup, served with the Morris County Prosecutor’s Office, where she successfully represented the State of New Jersey at numerous criminal trials. Additionally, as a former Municipal Court Prosecutor, Ms. Hascup regularly handled every type of charge that could be heard in Municipal Court, including underage possession of alcohol, underage DWI, and possession of a fake ID.
The experienced criminal defense lawyers from the Tormey Law Firm appear in courts throughout Morris County every day. Contact us 24 hours a day, seven days a week at 866-949-6948, or use the online contact form to schedule a free consultation.
Underage Drinking in New Jersey
The New Jersey statute which governs a criminal offense for underage possession of alcohol is N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15. This statute provides, in pertinent part:
a. Any person under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages who knowingly possesses without legal authority or who knowingly consumes any alcoholic beverage in any school, public conveyance, public place, or place of public assembly, or motor vehicle, is guilty of a disorderly persons offense, and shall be fined not less than $ 500.00.
b. Whenever this offense is committed in a motor vehicle, the court shall, in addition to the sentence authorized for the offense, suspend or postpone for six months the driving privilege of the defendant. Upon the conviction of any person under this section, the court shall forward a report to the Division of Motor Vehicles stating the first and last day of the suspension or postponement period imposed by the court pursuant to this section. If a person at the time of the imposition of a sentence is less than 17 years of age, the period of license postponement, including a suspension or postponement of the privilege of operating a motorized bicycle, shall commence on the day the sentence is imposed and shall run for a period of six months after the person reaches the age of 17 years.
Underage Alcohol Possession and Underage Drinking Consequences in NJ
Underage possession of alcohol in New Jersey is a disorderly persons criminal offense. If convicted, a person faces severe penalties, including:
- Fine: Up to $1,000 ($500 minimum)
- Jail: Up to six (6) months in the county jail
- License Suspension: Six (6) months if the offense was committed in a motor vehicle
- Criminal Record: Permanent Criminal Record
Contact a Parsippany NJ Underage Drinking Lawyer for a Free Consultation
As you can see, the penalties for underage possession of alcohol in New Jersey are harsh. It is imperative that a young person do everything possible to avoid a permanent criminal charge on their record. If convicted, this offense will show up on a background check for the rest of a person’s life, which can affect future employment and educational opportunities. If your child has been charged with underage drinking in New Jersey, you need to speak with an experienced criminal defense lawyer who knows how to combat these charges. Contact us 24 hours a day, seven days a week at 866-949-6948, or use our online contact form to schedule an appointment.