Madison NJ DWI Defense Attorneys
Countless people make the mistake of believing that refusing a breathalyzer test when stopped by police for suspicion of drunk driving will prevent them from being charged with a DWI. Unfortunately, nothing could be further from the truth. If you were pulled over by police for driving under the influence in Madison, New Jersey, not only will you be charged with DUI, but you will also face an extra charge for refusal to submit to a breathalyzer test. According to N.J.S.A. 39:4:50.4a, all drivers must submit to a chemical test if they’ve been lawfully pulled over by police and are suspected of operating a vehicle while intoxicated.
If you find yourself arrested for driving while intoxicated and/or breath test refusal in Madison, you need to seek immediate legal counsel from an experienced DWI defense lawyer. At The Tormey Law Firm, we put our knowledge and credentials in the realm of New Jersey DUI defense to work for you. Our firm’s founder, Travis Tormey is one of the select attorneys in NJ certified to maintain and operate the Alcotest 7110 breathalyzer machine. Our team also includes a certified standard field sobriety test instructor and a former Morris County DWI prosecutor. When defending clients facing DWI charges in the Morris County area, we are committed to crafting a defense strategy that positions you for the best possible outcome. Our mission is to help our clients avoid or reduce jail time, fines and/or driving penalties. For a free consultation with an experienced lawyer who can combat your Madison DUI charge, call (908) 336-5008 or contact us online.
DWI and Breathalyzer Refusal in Madison, New Jersey
Known as “The Rose City,” Madison is a suburban borough located in Morris County. Partially because of its affluence, traffic violations like DWI are taken very seriously and prosecuted to the full extent of the law. If you have been charged with drunk driving, you can expect the Madison prosecutors to try to make an example of you.
Assuming that this is your first offense, your Madison DWI charge could lead to a three-month license suspension, up to $400 in fines, over $1,000 in surcharges and fees, the possibility of an ignition interlock device for up to a year and a maximum of 30 days in jail. Any sentence you receive as a result of your failure to submit to a breathalyzer test charge will be added to the aforementioned DWI penalties. If you’re found guilty, you could face a seven-month driver’s license revocation in addition to a $300-$500 fine. That’s only for a first-time offense. Subsequent refusals could lead to a 10-year license suspension. As you might expect, more DWI or refusal convictions in your past significantly increase your exposure to penalties.
Your first instinct may be to simply accept the charges and face whatever consequences the judge hands down. But you should consider the implications before you do anything. You may have more options than you realize. Did the police have probable cause to stop you? Did they correctly follow all procedures? Were you made aware of the penalty for refusing a breathalyzer test? There are countless mitigating circumstances that may influence the outcome of your case. Before you do anything or agree to anything, it is critical that you immediately speak to a knowledgeable DWI attorney who has your best interests in mind.
Have You Been Charged with DWI in Madison NJ?
A DWI conviction on your permanent driving record is not something you want. In addition to all of the legal repercussions, there are life consequences to consider as well. Losing your driving privileges may jeopardize your livelihood and complicate future encounters with law enforcement. It is in your best interests to do everything in your power to avoid a conviction. The experienced Madison DWI defense attorneys at The Tormey Law Firm will explore your case from all angles and provide a blueprint for the best possible outcome. The sooner you contact us, the more quickly you get the answers you need. Call (908) 336-5008 to receive your free consultation now.